RSS

Seeking the Voice of God

12 May

I live within a reclusive soul; in harmony with

the path that I have chose, my firmament empty,

the voice of God I did seek, the answers to death

did not appear; I forge through an unforgiving land

doing the best that I can.

I once lived in a house by the sea, I sat watching the

people; some good as well as bad, I did not judge, but

now look at me forging through an unforgiving land

doing the best that I can.

Beyond my path I can see the road of humanity and life,

I see hope and I see strife, smiles and tears; I cannot see

His plan for me as I forge through an unforgiving land doing

the best that I can.

Death built a wall of stones around my soul; I am not weak,

or unwise, but I can no longer take the suspicious hearts of

man, has God abandoned me, as I forge

through an unforgiving land doing the best that I can.

©2015.elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2015 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Seeking the Voice of God

  1. Tokoni O. Uti

    May 12, 2015 at 7:36 pm

    Truly an unforgiving land. Nice one

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. calensariel

    May 12, 2015 at 10:40 pm

    I feel like there’s a stone wall built around my soul, too, albeit not for the same reasons. Except sometimes it does feel that way. It feels like it’s God who has died for me. I identified with every part of your poem Elizabeth…

    Like

     
  3. OldenGray

    May 13, 2015 at 12:11 am

    All of that may apply but they likely did not know that you could write as well as you do! Poetry that asks questions is can be so transparent that the reader knows where the author is coming from. A little sad but well spoken dear!

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
