RSS

Does God Hear Me Pray…

05 Jul

thZZK9KNHL

Does God Hear Me Pray  Above me a storm rages,

around me the winds whip the rain against me;

standing near the water’s edge the sands cut into

my bare flesh.  This storm like life confuses me,

my faith fades, my heart aches and the black and

endless night waits for the light of day. The understanding

of what lies beyond the heavens eludes me; does

God hold my hand, does God watch over

me in my despair; does he hear me when I pray.

©2015.elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2015 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Does God Hear Me Pray…

  1. reocochran

    July 5, 2015 at 3:28 pm

    He hears our prayers but I feel that there are times we are unable to know why sad things happrn. Like babies dying and good people struggling while some are smooth sailing all the way. Bless you! ♡

    Like

     
  2. calensariel

    July 5, 2015 at 4:20 pm

    You are not alone in your wondering… https://promptlings.wordpress.com/2015/07/05/prayer-of-the-lost/ (Isaiah 41:10)

    Like

     
  3. mentalasylum

    July 6, 2015 at 4:16 am

    God is always faithful. His timing may not be as accommodative as ours but his timing is perfect.

    Like

     
  4. Dom DiFrancesco

    July 6, 2015 at 9:30 pm

    This is wonderful Elizabeth Ann, you are posing the question we all wish we knew the answer to. Well done.

    Like

     
    • elizabeth ann johnson-murphree

      July 7, 2015 at 1:31 am

      It was short but I felt it as I wrote it. A question for you as a writer. Many have written giving me “words of encouragement”. Now, much, no all of my writing comes from truth and experience. However, I am always “shocked” so to speak that some feel I am getting ready to jump off a cliff with my creativity. Can one not write on a subject without someone thinking that they need to save the writer. I loved your comment you understood that I put a question out there without thinking you had to call a “hotline”. Do you ever get those comments that seem a bit over the top. Thanks Dom… Ann

      Like

       
  5. TheBraceletWriter

    July 11, 2015 at 5:37 pm

    I love this post. Ty for sharing

    Like

     
 
