RSS

Embrace the Hunger in Your Heart…

31 Jul

ba494f06055fda1cb8e24fe0a8fc8345

Embrace the Hunger in Your Heart…

 

It is morning, I find myself facing the eastern sky to bless the new day;

I watch in awe as the coolness of the night melds with the golden rays

of the sun. As if a stranger to my own body, I run down a furrowed road

the wind caressing my face, I am at peace, living in the moment, in the

right place.

I leave the road to follow a path into unfamiliar woods, I stare into the

darkness beyond the trees; I realized the only thing I had to fear was me.

I did not have to worry about leaving footprints behind, no one would care,

within time, there would be nothing to find.

I walked out of the darkness into a meadow, a sea of green grass and

heather spread before me like purple froth upon a stormy sea; I began to

run wildly at the anticipation of being free. As I reach the foot of a mountain

my life, seem so very clear, I knew freedom was very, very near.

At the summit, I leaned over the rocky ledge, suddenly I begin to fall; will I die

when I hit the bottom I thought, I knew that there was no need to cry out, no

one would hear my call.   I plunge toward the valley below jolted to consciousness

by moans that fill the void where I lay; I opened my eyes dawn was outside my

window, I realized I had been dreaming; it would soon be another new day.

I go to bed each night hoping to find a quiet moment in time where I can dream

while embracing the hunger in my heart; I believe in dreams, within them I may find

a new start. Yes, it is once again morning and I find myself filled with hope, a new

day has come, as I watch in awe the coolness of the night melds with the golden

rays of the sun.

©2015.elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_11?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=ann+johnson-murphree&sprefix=ann+johnson%2Caps%2C244

 
Comments Off on Embrace the Hunger in Your Heart…

Posted by on July 31, 2015 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
