RSS

Fear…

03 Aug

thMH1G1SEL

If fear were a color,                             

it would be black, void and unfeeling. 

If fear were a taste,                           

it would be that of bitter weeds. 

If fear were a feeling,                         

it would be that of suffocating. 

If fear were a smell,                             

it would be that of burning flesh. 

If fear were a sound,                             

it would be the rattle of one’s

last breath.

©elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_11?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=ann+johnson-murphree&sprefix=ann+johnson%2Caps%2C243

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2015 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Fear…

  1. Matt On Accident

    August 3, 2015 at 2:28 am

    I remember that feeling. All too well. 👍
    Short, sweet and to the point: well done!

    Like

     
    • elizabeth ann johnson-murphree

      August 3, 2015 at 6:55 am

      Matt. The poem came from someone asking me what was my definition of fear…thus came the poem. To me, it rang of truth, that silent fear we never discuss. Thank you so much for your comment it meant so much to me to hear from you. I enjoy your work, please stop by often. Ann

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Matt On Accident

        August 3, 2015 at 10:53 am

        I’ll do that, and thank you!

        Like

         
  2. beckaaj

    August 4, 2015 at 1:48 am

    Gave me chills picturing these feelings. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. theevergreenleo

    August 4, 2015 at 11:09 pm

    Love this piece. Thank you for following me, and I can’t wait to connect more on wordpress!

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
