RSS

Grief…

18 Aug

th4UHF60KT

Grief…

 

Fraught within an unfathomable sleep,

where my body cannot ascend.   My

mind exposed, I could only hope that

my soul could defend.

I lay in a bottomless pit, jagged stones,

and cataclysmic spheres, granite walls

bearing slivers of gold. I felt no fear as

before me was a story never told.

Fragmented lives with faces unknown

now for eternity tied to their beds of stone,

in chorus their weeping voices called, you

are almost there. Do not look back for you

can never go home.

An answer came from the rattle of chains

tearing of wrist and ankles from hand woven

rope. Light could be seen from where I stood,

for those in the dark, no hope.

Hungry bodies, once full of life lay in a prison

of despair. Souls empty, their thoughts,

crushed minds filled with stories of those who

never cared.

Weary souls suddenly broke their bondage,

bodies of granite woven with golden threads.

Ran to the light then fell back to the bottom.

Shattered pebbles making ready for another

souls bed.

To wake myself was impossible in a dark place

my soul must stay. I fought to climb out of the pit

into the light to send disappointment away.

I touched a vivid sphere of light it was the from

the morning sun, my life was not over. There was

more grieving to be done…    

©2015.elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

418mNXG0u7L__SX385_BO1,204,203,200_

http://www.amazon.com/Echoing-Images-Soul-Journey-into/dp/1500366811/ref=sr_1_7_twi_pap_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1439745849&sr=1-7&keywords=ann+johnson-murphree

41YvwitvQfL__SX312_BO1,204,203,200_41PHGQxaItL__AA160_untitled41HbWev9apL__UY250_

Books also at:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/%22Ann%20Johnson%20Murphree%22?Ntk=P_key_Contributor_List&Ns=P_Sales_Rank&Ntx=mode+matchall

 
Comments Off on Grief…

Posted by on August 18, 2015 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
