RSS

The Birth of Madness

09 Sep

thLTB7307OThe Birth of Madness…

When anger and depression fuse together,

They give birth to madness. Loathing emotions

Born out of the pits of darkness holds an

Emptiness and void that can never find

Contentment.

Madness thinks of death, madness is in harmony

With stillness. It feels pain, lives in blackness,

Hopes for nothing; survives as an opponent to

Living life.

Be aware…

Its name is madness; a spawn created of

Anger and depressions fusion.

I Am…

I hear music floating in the trees. I see

Magic in the clouds. I can almost see

Tomorrow. I want the pain to end…

I am death walking.

I pretend to be at peace, to protect

And comfort others. I worry about the

Ones I leave behind. I want the pain to

End… I am death walking.

I have touched the face of an angel.

Though I cry for those, I love.   I am at

Peace. I want the pain to end… I am

Death walking.

I understand the Will of God. I know

In truth lies freedom. I dream of my

Celestial home and I smile. I want the

Pain to end… I am death walking.

©2015.elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

Ann Johnson-Murphree books at Amazon.com

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2015 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “The Birth of Madness

  1. tmezpoetry

    September 9, 2015 at 1:14 pm

    The line- ‘I am Death Walking’ is a chilling frame for the while poem and it fits perfectly with the chorus of other emotions. A sad piece.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Meredith

    September 9, 2015 at 2:08 pm

    I must leave. Stay right here til I return. I must reread this poem.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. sadisttomato

    September 9, 2015 at 5:13 pm

    Wow. 👌👌

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Meredith

    September 9, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    I’ve lived with madness. You nailed it!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. artandmoondreams

    September 13, 2015 at 11:30 am

    Powerful piece. There is a push-and-pull, makes me think a bit of modern dance in imagery, but this makes me feel like I am experiencing the madness. I like the illustration too. Octopus and ink comes to mind very easily, but then it would be a good representation of the mind and the tendrils of thought.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. pragatibehani

    September 26, 2015 at 5:31 am

    Amazing lines

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
