RSS

Beyond the Voices

28 Sep

You left this world too early, free from a life that

left you filled with doubt. You lived the lives of

many, the voices, always hoping just to be

you.

I wait for that spark of light from heaven, I willed

you not to go; God did not agree. Was your life

fulfilled in such a short time, will I ever know?

You had beginnings, disappointments, new starts;

you worried about tomorrow, unable to feel

happiness in what you accomplished today.

I endure your being gone, sadness wretches my days,

when your glow died there was no hope. It seems like

a long unhappy dream. Roaming within my mind, I walk

the fields of your life. A time of clouded joy, then time was

blown away.

Born in innocence, fresh, life clear, before the voices took

over, bringing fear. I could not help you in your solitude

while you held fast to your unconquerable fears. I yearn for

lost years, before the mental strife, before the voices took

over your life.

It was after sunset that you died, a void that cannot be filled,

you will never grow old. I miss your smiles, your red tresses

flowing down your back, your light will always shine; your

radiance will never fade.

Sleep my child in eternal rest…

For Charlotte

untitled

©2015.elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2015 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Beyond the Voices

  1. bowmanauthor

    September 28, 2015 at 6:47 am

    Such sweet sadness.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. luckyjc007

    September 28, 2015 at 7:09 pm

    Lovely, sad, and expressed so well.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. sheldonk2014

    September 29, 2015 at 7:46 pm

    What a great piece
    I follow you from beginning to end
    Yes a sweet sadness
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. artandmoondreams

    October 1, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    Beautiful words, heart breaking sad.

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
