RSS

Dream to Survive

04 Nov

thUWFM1BOD

When young, I dreamed of journeys around the world,

when I became older the dreams changed to journey

within my own country, from sea to shining sea. Capes

and bays, slow rivers, tasting fruit of joy and pleasure; that

was then… and this is now and I have come to realize that

my dreams will not die with me.

I have known ecstasy and grief, I have seen tall trees and tall

ships; I will never again lie naked in the sand or know the touch

of gentle hands. Elusive and fearless I live somewhere in my mind,

I have suffered but always tried to be kind; I do not fear the white

light of eternity, I do not fear that death will come as I lay down to

sleep at the end of each day.

One day I will be renewed, no longer to dream of journeys, as I will be

on a journey through space, time… through infinity; my dreams will go

with me when I die; but for now all that is left is the challenge to survive.

©2015.elizabethannjohsonmurphree

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2015 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Dream to Survive

  1. thefeatheredsleep

    November 4, 2015 at 12:41 am

    Excellent

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. lbeth1950

    November 4, 2015 at 12:57 am

    Travel is the dream.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. sedge808

    November 4, 2015 at 3:11 am

    beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
