RSS

Bangles and Colorful Cloth for Ma

09 Nov

thRFQ02E72

Bangles and Colorful Cloth for Ma

“A poem based on fact dedicated to my Chickasaw Great-Grandmother”

When I was born, you were a young ninety-years old,

your hair pulled tight at the nap of your neck, still black

and bold. At night, you let it down to braid before you

went to bed, it fell to the floor; at first I would watch in

silence from the crack in the door.

The night you caught me peaking through your bedroom

door, I was six, you called me into the room smiling…

asking that I bring you a single broomstick. I quickly plucked

it from mother’s only broom, and rushed back into the dimly

lit room. You showed me how to break it into small pieces;

I looked bewildered your smile accenting all of your dark

wrinkles and creases.

It was then that my eyes opened wide as you put the stick

right through the lob of your ears, its magic I thought; this is

my great-grandmother I have nothing to fear. As a child,

I did not realize that there was a hole, because when I would

touch the bangles on your ears, you would quickly scold.

Just like the time when I tried to sneak a peek at your button

up shoes by raising the hem of your long dress, and you did

not have on shoes, there were moccasins on those tiny feet…

who would have guessed. Yes, I was only a child without a

care, and I spent many hours sitting at the foot of “Ma’s”

old rocking chair.

I never tired of the stories that she would tell, sometimes we

cried together and now I can say it…as a child she lived in a

white man’s world, she called it “hell”. Her parents had walked

on the “Trail of Tears”, proud and strong, with every step

wondering where they had gone wrong.

She helped raise me and she taught me the way, and in those

later years, I was sad when she would tell her stories; she

remembered only the bad. This grand old woman dressed in

bangles and cloths of many colors, with that big ball of hair at the

nap of her neck was a great-grandmother like no other.

She died only days before her birthday; she would have been

one-hundred and five, my daddy said, Ma would say when I die…

do not cry. I was fifteen-years old and the world was bright and

colorful with the artwork of fall, a befitting day to bury this beautiful

and proud Chickasaw.

©elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2015 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Bangles and Colorful Cloth for Ma

  1. lynettedavis

    November 9, 2015 at 3:34 pm

    This reminds me of my great grandmother. We called her Ma Doody. She was part Indian, but I don’t know what tribe. When I got the chicken pox at about five or six years old, they took me to her house where she put a herbal concoction on my chest. She was about ninety years old when I was born and died ten years later. Thank you for sharing this with me. Fond memories.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. doncarroll

    November 9, 2015 at 3:47 pm

    Wow….this penetrates me so so so much that it leaves me bubbly eyed. So so so strong is best described.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. artandmoondreams

    November 9, 2015 at 8:37 pm

    Lovely and poignant tribute. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

     
    • elizabeth ann johnson-murphree

      November 18, 2015 at 3:17 pm

      Sorry this is so late getting back to you on your comment, somehow I missed it and discovered it today. Thank you so much A&MDream

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • artandmoondreams

        November 23, 2015 at 9:44 am

        No worries…it was probably a late comment on my part…always running to catch up. lol.

        Like

         
  4. luckyjc007

    November 13, 2015 at 1:09 am

    Enjoyed reading this…such wonderful memories she left you with! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. lbeth1950

    January 21, 2016 at 12:48 pm

    More!

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
