RSS

Does Death Free the Heart…

07 Jan

rose_black

It is morning, I find myself facing the eastern sky to bless the new day; I watch in awe as the coolness of the night melds with the golden rays of the sun. As if a stranger to my own body, I run down a furrowed road the wind caressing my face, I am at peace, living in the moment, in the right place.

I leave the road to follow a path into unfamiliar woods, I stare into the darkness beyond the trees; I realized the only thing I had to fear was me. I did not have to worry about leaving footprints behind, no one would care, within time, there would be nothing to find.

I walked out of the darkness into a meadow, a sea of green grass and heather spread before me like purple froth upon a stormy sea; I began to run wildly at the anticipation of being free. As I reach the foot of a mountain my life seem so very clear, I knew freedom was near.

I climbed to another summit, I leaned over the rocky ledge, suddenly I begin to fall; will I die when I hit the bottom I thought, I knew that there was no need to cry out, no one would hear my call.   I plunge toward another beautiful valley below; jolted to consciousness by moans that fill the void where I lay; I opened my eyes dawn was outside my window, I realized I had been dreaming; it would soon be another new day.

I go to bed each night hoping to find a quiet moment in time where I can dream while embracing the hunger in my heart; I believe in dreams, within them I may find a new start. Yes, it is once again morning and I find myself filled with hope, a new day has come.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Does Death Free the Heart…

  1. Kate Cowie Riley

    January 7, 2016 at 5:26 pm

    Beautifully written! For those of us who live our lives by what comes to us in our dreams, those hours are so important.

    Like

     
  2. Edyta Diana Kania

    January 7, 2016 at 5:28 pm

    Lovely dream. Here is to new beginnings.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. sheldonk2014

    January 9, 2016 at 8:53 am

    Great piece
    Simply beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. reocochran

    January 10, 2016 at 12:38 am

    Your dream turned out well but with you standing on the ledge or precipice, so to speak I had fears of a bad ending. No one wants to dream of their own mortality, I would hope! Nicely written, which did get me worrying. . . Take care and here’s to dreaming and also, to waking with another day here on earth. ♡

    Like

     
  5. poetlou

    February 18, 2016 at 5:39 pm

    I believe the heart frees us from death , as the heart has seen so many glorious gifts that GOD has given us that it becomes like the yellow brick road.

    Like

     
 
