RSS

My Journey into Art…

10 Jan

 

29. Birth of Cotton

30. Women in cottonfield

21.cotton field

31. Women Dreaming

32. Birth of Cotton 2

10.Cabin in the Meadow

The last painting is of the old two-pen cabin where I was born in Alabama; many of my poems are based on the hardships of those who took care of the deep red southern soil that grew the white gold called “cotton”.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Journey-into-Art-Ann-Johnson-Murphree/dp/1500502960/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1452384145&sr=8-1

 

 
 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “My Journey into Art…

  1. reocochran

    January 10, 2016 at 12:34 am

    This was a fascinating journey into the southern way of life through paintings, Elizabeth. I was wondering how recently did you complete this book? I feel bad I did not feature this on my post. . . Yet!

    Like

     
  2. chris jensen

    January 10, 2016 at 1:31 am

    Wonderful images!

    cheers chris

    Like

     
  3. quiall

    January 10, 2016 at 1:57 am

    Beautiful paintings!

    Like

     
  4. booguloo

    January 10, 2016 at 3:33 am

    Very Good. You have another possible income stream. 🙂

    Like

     
  5. JoHanna Massey

    January 10, 2016 at 11:38 am

    I returned to the high desert after living in the southern part of the US for several years. I love your art. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Aquileana

    January 15, 2016 at 6:19 am

    Powerful style… I love the ethical approach… Best wishes. Aquileana 😉

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • elizabeth ann johnson-murphree

      January 15, 2016 at 8:27 pm

      Oh, thank you for the response and these thoughts of people, places and things come from memories…no the dress period yet I was raised in a cotton field by my father. The single bowl of cotton an the blood splattered hand raising it up are from my heart and images of people I loved whose fingers were cut from picking the cotton. E

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. poetlou

    January 19, 2016 at 3:11 pm

    GOD blesses us in ways that we’ve yet to understand but in you he has given a gifted hand

    Like

     
 
