RSS

Memories of Buttercup…

21 Jan

When I was just a child I did not know that times were bad, the depression meant nothing to me as I played in a yard with no grass and wore hand-me-down clothes. Our water came out of rocks in a hollow close to the tarpaper shack we called home; jars of milk cooled in a small pool of water that gathered there before it ran into the pasture making a small creek. I remember always being alone, just me and a dog named Buttercup. My memories are filled with the fact that my mother was always gone and my daddy was always tired; the piece below created out of memories of those days has never been forgotten. I thought that I was happy. EAJM

 th04PA7NPR

Buttercup

Many years ago, when my memory first came to be I guess I was about three. I was alone all day while daddy worked in the cotton fields leaving long before the sun came up; it was just me and a big old yellow dog who watched out for me that everyone called “Buttercup”.

Daddy said that she wandered up one day about half starved and she never left our yard. I had a sister, who was about nine, but she was never around she and my mother were gone all the time.

I overheard mother saying one day that my sister was the only child that she ever wanted or even had; I did not care I had daddy so my life was not that bad.

I would eat cold biscuits every morning left on the old wood stove then sit on our back porch wondering where I could go. I did not need anyone to take care of me –   I had that old yellow dog you see.

She and I played in the fields under the hot southern sun, I would hang on to her and away we would run. Sometimes we would walk in the woods around the mountaintop where we lived. I had better care from that old yellow dog than most humans could give.

Life was not easy for me with no one to care; still “Buttercup” was always there. Soon it came time for me to go to school Buttercup and daddy would watch as the bus drove away, and they would both be waiting for me at the end of the day.

The years went by quickly when one day only daddy stood by the road with his head bowed down there were tears in his eyes as he stared at the ground. Later as my own tears fell upon a soft mound of red dirt I looked toward Heaven and told Buttercup to keep watching for me, “You’ll look up one day old girl and there I will be”.

©2014.elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Memories of Buttercup…

  1. quiall

    January 21, 2016 at 7:31 am

    Sweet gentle memories. I cried as I remembered. Her name was Blue. Different times, different memories, same love.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. sheldonk2014

    January 21, 2016 at 8:03 am

    A very beautiful story
    Thank you
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 2 people

     
  3. grannyscolorful

    January 21, 2016 at 10:59 am

    Ann, your story of Buttercup touched my very Heart. We have lost dogs whom were our babies, and I know the grief. When I was a little girl I didn’t get to have a dog … once I remember a puppy … I was very young … and I remember someone saying it had been poisoned. I was too small to understand. It made an impression on me that I never forgot. ❤ Gloria

    Like

     
  4. lbeth1950

    January 21, 2016 at 12:46 pm

    I am dying for more. Tell more about your mother.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Patrice

    January 22, 2016 at 6:30 pm

    Beautiful words. Wonderfully written. I can so relate to the feeling that the only one to truly love you was a soul sent to help and guide you thru the harsh times. No judgement. No rules or orders. Only unconditional love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. reocochran

    January 27, 2016 at 6:51 pm

    This was heart warming, Elizabeth. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. Jacqui Murray

    February 10, 2016 at 3:37 pm

    Wonderful memory. Dogs are like that, aren’t they?

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. lynettedavis

    March 24, 2016 at 2:59 pm

    Your mother was just like mine. God puts just the right people and pets in our lives. I’m glad you had your dad and Buttercup.

    Like

     
 
