RSS

Virginia Woolf died 75 years ago today

28 Mar

George_Charles_Beresford_-_Virginia_Woolf_in_1902Virginia Wolf

Jan 25, 1882 – Mar 28, 1941

One of my favorite authors, Virginia Woolf died 75 years ago today.  Adeline Virginia Woolf  had seven siblings, she married Clive Bell in 1907 and Leonard Woolf in 1912.  I have read everything possibly written by Virginia Woolf she has been an inspiration to me and my writing. 

My favorite quotes by Virginia Woolf:

“These are the soul’s changes. I do not believe in aging. I believe in forever-altering one’s aspect to the sun. Hence my optimism.”

“Once conform, once do what other people do because they do it, and lethargy steals over all the finer nerves and faculties of the soul. She becomes all outer show and inward emptiness; dull, callous, and indifferent.”

 

 

Thank you and R.I.P Virginia Woolf

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2016 in Author's, Death

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Virginia Woolf died 75 years ago today

  1. bowmanauthor

    March 28, 2016 at 4:22 pm

    Elizabeth, so glad to see your Home page restored. I hope you were able to save all your incredible writings and paintings! Virginia Woolf is one of my absolute most favorite writers as well. I collect classic American/British Literature. She is well represented.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. jackcollier7

    March 29, 2016 at 11:26 am

    I have never read any Virginia Woolf, now I am going to have to. Thank you for your insight.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • elizabeth ann johnson-murphree

      March 29, 2016 at 1:48 pm

      She live in a time that I wish for…independent yet troubled. I find that most writers walk the edge most times. Thank you for stopping by…..E

      Like

       
 
