RSS

A Liar’s Life

04 Apr

thUFG1CZ41.jpg

 

Standing in a graveyard alone

to mourn, to stare at the mound

of dirt; at the shell of one who

loved but a few, the seed of

kindness never sowed, love they

did not seek, now only silence lies

beneath.  Entitlement is all that

remains, grief, no greeting,

unwanted presence, gestures, tone

and looks in death there was joy

and greedy ploys.  Gluttony bloomed

before the setting of the sun, looking

for more to take, life took on a forged

tongue.  Open jeers, false deeds, honor

lost, the price of greed can be at a great

cost.  Roars the misty breath of strife

destiny has finally caught up with a

Liar’s life.

 

 

©2016.elizabethannjohnsonmurphree

 

 

 

thBPHSKA15“Life is short, live it. Love is rare, grab it. Anger is bad, dump it. Fear is awful, face it. Memories are sweet, cherish it.”

 

 

Click on author’s book page to view poetry and art books at Amazon.com

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “A Liar’s Life

  1. jackcollier7

    April 4, 2016 at 3:33 pm

    Either your stuff is getting better and better, or I am finally learning something about real poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • elizabeth ann johnson-murphree

      April 4, 2016 at 3:41 pm

      Well Jack I do hope that I am getting better; my passion is “free verse” and if it rhymes it writes itself that way. Your comments are a great encouragement to me. I write from life experiences, memories and little incidents that pop up along the way. I sometime get into a dark area and have to remind a follower who ask if I need help…that I am just drawing from deep within and that I am somewhat mentally sound :-). Thank you for your support, and for giving me a site such as your that always brings excitement in my day(s). E

      Like

       
  2. CaughtInTheClouds

    April 5, 2016 at 11:05 pm

    I. Love. This. !!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. lightwalker1

    April 6, 2016 at 3:08 am

    Nice work on the enjambment and a lovely flow. Good Job. In love and light Cheryle

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
