RSS

Trankil Death – A 100 Word Story

29 Apr

th

 

Trankil Death

At dawn, Ruby Waters life light went out, in the dark her children cried; a candle glowed against the rustic rough boards of the shanty shadowing the souls left behind.  Laid to rest quickly in the Louisiana heat; the moon cast a glow on her shallow grave.  The children’s tears burn hot upon their dirt-streaked faces as relatives who heard the shots took them away.  Drunken Gat Waters had shot his emancipated wife because she was pregnant again then yelled, “Now dat’ are two less mouths to feed”.  They were swamp folk no one outside Bayou Gauche would ever know.

 

 

©2016.trankildeath.annjohnsonmurphree
NOTE: Visit author’s book page or ann Johnson-murphree at Amazon.com

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Trankil Death – A 100 Word Story

  1. Maremma Gee

    April 29, 2016 at 3:01 pm

    This is great…I want to know more!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • elizabeth ann johnson-murphree

      April 29, 2016 at 3:04 pm

      Thank you I announced recently that my last poetry book would be out in May. I want to work on the many story ideas that I have; I plan to do a collection of 100 word stories, hopefully publish and from those do a short story collection…my goal for 2016.

      Liked by 1 person

       
 
