RSS

Current look back at the home front

01 Sep

A great post to start a new month by GP COX…enjoy

Pacific Paratrooper

old-cookbook-image

My Years of Eating Dangerously

by: William Jeanes, former editor-in-chief of ‘Car and Driver’

Marie Osmond told me on tv that she lost 50 lbs. eating prepackaged meals sent to her home, and not too long ago, the nation’s first lady ran off the White House pastry chef.  That reminded me of childhood mealtimes and my grandmother’s nutritional malfeasance.

Until well after WWII ended, I lived on 6th Street in Corinth, MS, with my grandparents.  Two aunts also lived with us.  All the men were in the Pacific, leaving my grandfather (Pop), to provide.  My grandmother (Mom), ran the house.

Pop was a superb provider.  He worked as a carpenter for the TVA and had a green B sticker on his car’s windshield, meaning that we had income and gasoline.  He also had a green thumb and grew green vegetables in a huge backyard garden.  Pop also fished, and he…

View original post 538 more words

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2016 in Author's

 

4 responses to “Current look back at the home front

  1. GP Cox

    September 2, 2016 at 9:48 am

    Thank you very much, Ann. A lot of people can relate to these days, plus it was a fun post! I hope your readers also enjoy it. Even our parents and grandparents were affected by that war and they too became part of history.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Patrice

    September 2, 2016 at 3:35 pm

    So glad you shared ❤

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
