RSS

Focus On History

01 Oct

ENJOY DERRICK J KNIGHT AND HIS BLOG “RAMBLINGS”

derrickjknight

CLICK ON IMAGES TO ENLARGE. REPEAT IF REQUIRED.

For my last birthday, Shelly and Ron gave me “Eyewitness – 150 years of Photojournalism” by Richard Lacayo and George Russell. Published by Time magazine this covers the history of such photography up to 1995.

The book is a collection of important pictures stitched together by a series of erudite essays from the two writers. I finished reading it today and found it fascinating. Some of the images were familiar to me, but many were not. What I have chosen to feature here is necessarily idiosyncratic, but I hope it will provide a flavour.

Boulevard du Temple, Paris 1839

I start, as does the book, with ‘the first known photograph of a human being’. Louis Jacques Mandé Daguerre exposed this image of Boulevard du Temple, Paris in 1839. Because, in those early days, exposure times were several minutes, any moving thing, such as carriages, horses, or pedestrians…

View original post 480 more words

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2016 in Author's

 

2 responses to “Focus On History

  1. derrickjknight

    October 2, 2016 at 12:24 pm

    Thanks very much, Ann

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
