RSS

What Does Your Memory Smell?

10 Nov

Outstanding work, enjoyable site you will not be disappointed. eajm

Writer Site

I’m slowly putting my memoir in chronological order (from age eleven) and deciding which scenes to leave out and which to put back in (that I had already taken out). The story has to be told differently in the order it happened in, as opposed to a present day telling that dips back and forth. Stories connected in a more thematic way before, but now the reader has to be able to follow threads where they may stray farther afield for a while.

There was a scene I’d first written several years ago where my mother tried to persuade me to go to medical school. It has connections to two major threads, so I was thinking of putting it back in. I couldn’t find it anywhere and now wonder how much of my story I’ve inadvertently deleted or lost. But I did find some old writing exercises that were kind…

View original post 645 more words

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2016 in Author's

 

2 responses to “What Does Your Memory Smell?

  1. reocochran

    November 19, 2016 at 4:45 am

    This is such a great re-blogging, Elizabeth. I like how the thoughts of “smell” or “scent” connects and transports us into the past. Our senses have concrete basis to latch onto foggy memories and wake them up! 🙂 Robin

    Liked by 1 person

     
 
