RSS

Wisconsin Weather…

28 Apr

womanwriterblog

So…today is Friday and it is cold outside!  Mother Nature loves to play games with the people who live in Wisconsin.  We have had it in the 70’s and must now endure the mid-40 mark.  The coat I placed far to the back of my closet is now at the front.

The first time I knew there was land beyond the “Mason Dixon Line” was in March 1956, I was about seventeen years old, just married to a boy that had “faked” his southern accent.  After a wedding so to speak, not a shotgun one but arranged by parents to keep this young boy in the south.  That story too long for one post.  The arrangement did not work, as he was an Alabama transplant living in Wisconsin with his mother and stepfather for over a decade, and had always planned to return after he vacationed in the South.

Fresh out of the military he yearned for what was called “STAN & IRENE’S”, yep…a bar.  We went to Chicago by train, switched there to a train going to Beaver Dam, I slept, exhausted from the last two-weeks of sheer horror and missing my daddy; I may as well be a kidnapped victim.  It was dark when we got on that last train.  I stared out the window into the darkness thinking, this person no longer has a southern accent and what do I know about him, nothing.  Yes, I think back see myself as a kidnap victim.

When I woke in amazement, outside was a world I had never seen.  It was truly the most beautiful landscape I had ever seen other than the white sands and warm gulf waters of Panama City, Florida.  I had on a blue short sleeve sweater and a light green “poodle” skirt with a blue scarf tied around my neck and yes…saddle shoes and white roll down socks

This post was supposed to be about today’s cold right?  Well, I have veered off track.  I stepped off the train in a place called Fox Lake; I was scared and surprised…the “GOOD BOOK” had given me the impression that Hell was hot!

I rode from the train platform into Beaver Dam freezing; even the inside of the car was cold.  When we reached the home of my then husband’s parents it was not much warmer than the outside, but at least the wind was not blowing through the two story – two flat house.  As time went by, I knew that I had been sentenced to Hell for sure; I lived with the Devil and his followers.

When I acquired the proper clothing I loved the clean fresh look of snow, to toss it in the air and something I had never done make and throw a snowball with my new twelve-year-old sister-in-law, I loved snow.

Well, it now sixty-one years later, all of the people I knew then are gone, I hope to a peaceful place.  I still have a southern accent; do not ask me why…it just stayed with me.  I can live anywhere I want too, I continue to choose Wisconsin and its four seasons.

Nevertheless, please it is the end of April and it in the forties…give this ole southern girl a break!

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Wisconsin Weather…

  1. derrickjknight

    April 29, 2017 at 9:12 am

    Excellent

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Carl D'Agostino

    May 14, 2017 at 11:39 am

    I moved from Miami after 60 years to Greensboro, NC in Jan 2014. I really like the difference.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • elizabeth ann johnson-murphree

      May 15, 2017 at 5:12 am

      I suspect we all need a change at times, you moved back with you father, right? Were you from NC? Thank for the comment Carl, good to hear from you. Ann

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. Carl D'Agostino

    May 15, 2017 at 9:39 am

    We are Staten Islanders and parents left for Miami to start a new life in 1954 when I was 5 years old. I have a daughter and grandchildren in Miami. I sent my son to college here in Greensboro. He graduated in 2004. Father and I decided it was time to be with him now. He has a 5 year old daughter. My parents moved in with me in 2002. Mother passed in 2012. Dad will be 94 this November. We decided to start a new life here. Compared to Miami it seems people here are normal human beings.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
